Manila Philippines History

The list of the oldest historical buildings in the Philippines is never complete without the University of Santo Tomas in Manila. The historic site of the Philippines was to carry the first Philippine flag, which symbolized the country's independence in 1898. It became the capital of the colonial Philippines, with Manila and Intramuros serving as the center of colonial power.

On June 12, 1898, General Aguinaldo declared the Philippines independent of Spain in Manila, but the declaration was not internationally recognized. Manila later became the cosmopolitan capital of the country when the Commonwealth of Philippines was inaugurated on 14 June 1896 with the election of Senate President Manuel L. Quezon as President. Manuel Roxas was elected the first president of the independent Philippines by the President of the Commonwealth of Philippines. On July 4, 1946, at the end of the war, the United States and the Philippines signed the Treaty of Manila.

While the initial skirmishes between the Philippines and the Spanish were brief and almost always lost by the Philippines, the movement grew until an open rebellion occurred after the Spaniards lost the Philippines to the unified Philippine-American troops in 1898. When the American public and politicians debated the issue of annexation, the Philippine revolutionary Aguinaldo seized control of the city of Manila on June 12, 1898, and proclaimed the establishment of an independent Philippine Republic. After a brutal attack, Spain was defeated, but the United States took control of Port Manila and all the Philippine islands. There was a battle in the Bay of Manila, where the colonial rulers surrendered to their not so triumphant Filipinas.

Manila was returned to Manila by presidential decree, and Manila City was nicknamed the "Pearl of the Orient" and served as the capital of the Philippines. Manila was founded in 1571 and was declared the capital of all the Philippines. Manila exercised this function from its foundation until its annexation by the United States in 1898. Due to its proximity to the Pacific Ocean and its long history of trade and commerce, it is the oldest city in the country and the second largest city on the island of Mindanao. Manila is remembered for its historical importance as a commercial, commercial and commercial centre, as well as its cultural heritage.

After the formation of a civilian government, the Philippine Commission dissolved the former province of Manila and merged its people with the district of Morong to form the new provinces of Rizal.

The government chose three options for creating a commission to be selected by the Filipinos: the government, the Philippine Executive Commission, or the local government. Vargas and local leaders chose the third option, creating a "Greater Manila" that would be administered by the Philippine Commission, not by a separate government agency. The Greater Manila, which was initially administered as "Greater Manila," was founded and later extended to the entire Philippines.

Greater Manila comprised the following cities: Manila, Quezon City, Cotabato, Baguio, Taguig and the territories that included the provinces of Mindanao, Cagayan de Oro, Leyte, Pasay, Pangasinan, Sulu, Bohol, Visayas, Mindoro, Zamboanga, Bulacan, Cavite, Iloilo, Davao, Malacanang, Palawan, Batangas and Tarlac. When Metro Manila was founded, it was the second largest city in the Philippines after Manila, but covered only a fraction of its mother city's territory.

In 1976, Metro Manila was officially declared the capital of the Philippines and the second largest city in the country after Manila. On the following New Year's Day, President Quezon ordered the creation of a city he called Greater Manila to reduce the size of the administration and the metropolitan area after the war.

Intramuros became the capital of the Spanish East Indies (Indias orientales), which included the Philippines, Guam, Palau and the Mariana Islands. The Viceroyalty of New Spain was founded and ruled by the Governor-General of Mexico City, Mexico, and the Governor-General of Puerto Rico, the United States of America, at the beginning of the 17th century. This governor general ruled the port of Manila and was subordinate to the Vicariate of Mexico City. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, it ruled the Philippines under the command of a governor general.

Imelda Marcos was able to exercise her authority by building a golden domed mosque as a five-star hotel. In 1975 she was appointed Governor of Metro Manila and founded the City of Greater Manila, which served to establish the administrative functions of Metro Manila Governor under the Marcos Administration. It created a state - the - aerobatic airport, the International Airport of Manila (MIA) and an international airport.

In later years Andres Bonifacio founded a secret organization dedicated to the liberation of the Philippines from Spain in the Tondo section of Manila. American troops clashed with Aguinaldo's followers in Manila on February 4, 1899, leaving many Filipinos disappointed. When the United States took over the government in Manila in 1899, the Philippines was in a state of war. The era of the "Philippine commonwealth" (1934-1944) proved to be the most successful period of Philippine independence in its history, as the transition from colony to independence was supported by the US government and its allies, such as France, Germany, Italy, and Spain.

More About Manila

More About Manila